Heroes & Villains

Today, with a DVD copy of The History Channel’s 2003 documentary ‘Comic Book Superheros Unmasked‘ playing in the background and sun pouring through the slats of our vertical blinds, I’m doing my best to stay productive and positive. 2017 has gotten off to a rocky start, which was only to be expected when the Oval Office has been invaded by a misogynistic, racist, tiny-handed Cheeto man. But, as they have for generations, these comic book stories are making me feel like no matter how bad things get, the good guys will always be there to help save the day- only today, it’s us, the comic book readers, who have to stand up as superheroes ourselves.

My current read, ‘Our Revolution‘, by Senator Bernie Sanders, makes me feel like we the people really can be those superheroes. Full of inspiring stories from his campaign trail, logical explanations of the political process, and well thought-out ideas on how to move America forward in solidarity, it has been a light in the darkness for me in the days since Dump’s inauguration. It’s a bit of a tome at 450 pages, but it’s such an enjoyable read- I blew through the first 80 pages (and managed to tab/note) without even looking up at the clock. If you’re feeling hopeless, if you’re certain that America is in need of a real-life superhero- look to this book, and then look to yourself.

 

Author:

24/in love/booknerd A bookstagrammer with blogging ambitions! I have an addiction to Netflix and old [adult swim] tapes. Pretty much all I want from life is to be able to read, write, and learn for a living.

Leave a comment